Tags

, , , ,

A bucket list is a generally short wish list of things you want to do before you die (or kick the bucket). This term was popularized in a 2007 movie of the same name. I’m not sure where or when it started, but I’ve also seen summer (and now fall) bucket lists on Pinterest that involve picking activities (usually for children or families) out of a bucket. I guess this is a similar idea with the end of the season being the deadline.

Bucket list is easier to search for online, but I prefer to call it a life list. In bird watching a life list is a list of all the bird species you’ve seen and identified in your life. Although many people use the terms bucket list and life list interchangeably, I see a difference. A bucket list is certainly a part of your life list, but I see a life list as also containing accomplishments and life experiences you’ve completed.

Even if they haven’t made a list, most people have things they’ve always wanted to do and places they’ve always to go. There are no rules, you can put whatever you want on your own list and you can change it at any time.

I’m creating my life list on Pinterest. I wish I could sort the pins within the boards to group items into a better order, so I could see what’s missing and be more likely to avoid duplicates. I have more ideas to add, but it’s so much easier to repin items from other boards than to find original images with good sources. I’m trying not to add anymore images from google. You can suggest more items or pins for me here or by mentioning (add @debsanswers in a comment on a pin) me on Pinterest. I’ve divided my life list into four boards to try to keep it from being only travel. You can see them here: My Boards

What’s on your list?

Bucket List Journey (mslistologist.com)

Marking it off the bucket list take two (britheblogger.wordpress.com)

